What we do

Multus #3: Canto Ostinato for 4 pianos

  • Organization : Monten Co.
  • Section : In Tokyo
  • Type of Grant Program : Single
  • Art Forms : Music


An artist and musician, Tomoko Mukaiyama presents her third program of a series “Multus.” This is the Japan premiere of the famous European minimalist, Dutch composer Simeon ten Holt’s “Canto Ostinato for 4 pianos” (1976-1979), to be performed by four pianos (duration: 2 hours). Starring Tomoko Mukaiyama as pianist, it is performed by a modern music specialist Gerard Bouwhuis and two young Japanese pianists, Hiroaki Takaha and Yusuke Sato. She also choreographs the concert with installation art using lighting devices.

Another concert of her production, “View of Tokyo through Photographs and Fashion,” features a talk show with a musical concert on the theme of “music, photos and fashion,” to be held at the Ryogoku Monten Hall. A photographer Masafumi Sanai and a stylist Daisuke Iga will accompany as guest personalities.


Tomoko Mukaiyama
Mukaiyama won the Dutch Gaudeamus competition in 1991, and started her career as an internationally acclaimed soloist, performing with prominent orchestras such as the Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra, premiering new compositions. She is actively expanding the scope of her engagements into performing and installation arts, including the collaboration with Jirí Kylián and Marina Abramovic. In 2013, her new work was highly received at the Aichi Triennale and the Setouchi Triennale.


Yaeko Kurosaki
Production Manager
General Incorporated Association Monten
(Ryogoku Monten Hall)
Murasawa BLDG. 1-1F, 1-3-9 Ryogoku, Sumida-ku, Tokyo 130-0026

Tel: +81-3-6666-9491
E-mail: contact◆monten.jp
Please replace ◆ with @.


Asahi Art Square (Sumida City, Tokyo)
Ryogoku Monten Hall (Sumida City, Tokyo)