What we do

Kim Yohan Composer Solo exhibition Ambiguous/ Complicated/ Accidental Listening in between

  • Organization : KIM YOHAN
  • Section : Artistic and creative activity in Tokyo
  • Type of Grant Program : Single
  • Art Forms : Music


This project aims to present a concert that allows people to experience the act of listening to music in a more active way by gathering in the concert hall in Today’s situation where music listening is done through virtual interfaces (Music streaming such as YouTube). The concert features five works composed under the creative theme of “ambiguous/complex/accidental…listening in between,” including both old and new works. The performers will be Kota Sakamoto on Tuba, Hidetaka Nakagawa on Bassoon, Aiki Kitajima on Cello, and Satoko Inoue on Piano. This project is my first solo exhibition in Tokyo to express my gratitude to the many teachers, colleagues, and performers who have nurtured me as a composer over the past 10 years, and to the Japanese people who have willingly become listeners to my music. We hope that through this project we can contribute to conveying the appeal of Tokyo’s music and art culture.

Co-reference(2018/2020)Bassoon solo
De-reference(2019)Tuba solo
Let “Cello” take its own course(2021)Cello solo
Why we take for granted in the sounds? (2021) Piano solo
Unestablished Structures(2021)Ensemble for 4 players


Born in Seoul, YOHAN KIM came to Japan in 2011 wishing to be a composer. He is currently a graduate student in the doctoral course at the Kunitachi College of Music, majoring in Composition. He is focusing on the interactivity of “Music” that connects humanity and sonority, creates works based on the theme of irony related to the understanding of works and humor that nullifies irony. He studied; Composition under Jo Kondo, Motoharu Kawashima, Yumi Saiki, Masakazu Natsuda, and Thomas Meyer-Fiebig.




Ryogoku Monten Hall, Sumida City, Tokyo