What we do

dance ga mitai!18 Dance Eric Satie

  • Organization : 「dance ga mitai!」Executive Committee
  • Section : Artistic and creative activity in Tokyo
  • Type of Grant Program : Single
  • Art Forms : Dance


Following the 2015 summer program “dance ga mitai! 17 The rite of spring” in which dancers performed Stravinsky’s The Rite of Spring, this year all 11 dance teams will create a work on the theme of the music of Erik Satie.

The program features dancers who have previously won the Newcomer Award (selected by a panel of judges) or the Audience Award (voted for by the audience) in the “Dance ga mitai! Newcomer Series”*. The dancers give one performance each, along with two new award winners from the Newcomer Series 14 held in January this year.

*The “Dance ga mitai! Newcomer Series” is an annual eventfeaturing emerning artists selected through open competitions. “Dance ga mitai!” forms the main component of the show, which features performances by the winners of the Newcomer Award and Audience Award above.

Toshiko Oka
Aisa Shirai
Masahide Omori
Ruri Mitoh × Tomoko Inamura
Teita Iwabuchi / Kaori Seki
Dance no Inu ALL IS FULL Masako Fukaya
Kazko Takemoto DANCE VENUS
Butoh-sha Tenkei
Mika Kurosawa
Aiko Kimura
Junjun Science


“Dance ga mitai!” Executive Committee
The “Dance ga mitai!” Executive Committee was launched by performers and critics involved in the “Dance ga mitai!” festival formerly run by small theater die pratze (closed since 2012), along with former members of the die pratze. The committee took over programming dance series such as the “Dance ga mitai!” series. Sister project “Dance ga mitai! Newcomer Series” is now in its 14th year and has become a gateway to success for emerging dancers. In July 2012, Keiichi Hayashi took over from Jiro Yoshimura as the company’s Representative.


Keiichi Hayashi
「Dance ga mitai!」Executive Committee


d-soko (Arakawa City, Tokyo)