What we do

Point de Vue vol.9

  • Organization : Point de Vue
  • Section : In Tokyo
  • Type of Grant Program : Single
  • Art Forms : Music


Point de Vue is a concert series of contemporary music produced by the composers Teruaki SUZUKI and Tomohiro MORIYAMA. Since its launch in 2007, this annual concert series has premiered numerous works by living composers, in partnership with up-and-coming performers. Rather than advocating a message through a common syntax and style, the diverse composers who have featured to date have each created works based on their individual viewpoints (= Point de Vue), rooted in their own musical approaches and values. This concert series is a forum at which these perceptions and statements intersect. With the aim of bringing his music to a wider audience, this year’s series – the 9th of its kind – will feature a special performance of a work by Akira MIYOSHI (1933-2013), a composer who made an immense contribution to the Japanese music world.

As well as new works by Kotomi IGARASHI, Norikazu OMOKAWA, Teruaki SUZUKI, Masakiyo SEKITO, Toyotaka TSUCHIDA, and Tomohiro MORIYAMA, the 2015 series will present Akira MIYOSHI’s Constellation Noir (original version for guitar and string quartet). The score of this original version has never been published, so it will be a precious opportunity to listen to this rarely performed work. For this performance, we will have the pleasure of welcoming the guitarist Yasuji OHAGI, who has achieved remarkable success, winning the 18th Idemitsu Music Award, among many other achievements.


[Teruaki Suzuki]
Born in Sendai(Japan), 1958.

Graduated the music composition course of TŌHŌ GAKUEN School of Music and Graduate School.

Studies under Akira MIYOSHI.

Won 1st prize in the 46th Music Competition of Japan(Chamber music section) and 2nd prize in the 51st Music Competition of Japan(Orchestral work section).

Won first place in the 7th Japan Symphony Foundation Award (1984).

Won 1st prize in “Humbacher Preis” International Composition Competition (West Germany) in 1985 (Orchestral work department), and in 1987 (String trio department).

Won “Muramatsu Preis” in 1991, the 12th Kenzō Nakajima Award in 1994, as a member of “Art Respirant” a group of players and composers, and the Miyagi Prefecture Arts Award 2001.

A teacher of TŌHŌ GAKUEN School of Music and Tokyo University of the arts -Faculty of Music-.


E-mail: info_point_de_vue◆yahoo.co.jp
Please replace ◆ with @.


Tokyo Bunka Kaikan Recital Hall (Taito City, Tokyo)