What we do

The 5th Concert of Works by Masataro Imafuji

  • Organization : Executive Committee of 〈Concert of Works by Masataro Imafuji〉
  • Section : Artistic and creative activity in Tokyo
  • Type of Grant Program : Single
  • Art Forms : Japanese Traditional Art


A concert of pieces by composer Masataro Imafuji, holder of the Important Intangible Cultural Property designation (nagauta shamisen). The works performed comprised “Hotaru” (“Fireflies”), “Rokusai-nenbutsu isoukyoku,” and “Murozaki Kyo-ningyo,” a piece composed through a process of restoration by several people including Imafuji, under a restoration project for Edo period nagauta music chaired by Imafuji.

Principle performers
Vocals: Naokichi Kineya, Hideko Kineya, Masaki Imafuji, Choichiro Imafuji
Shamisen: Yoshijiro Imafuji, Sansumi Kineya, Eihachiro Kineya
Kokyu Japanese fiddle: Yoshijiro Kiyomoto
Kotsuzumi drum: Sako Tanaka/ shamisen: Kanjuro Fujima
Otsuzumi drum: Koshiro Matsumoto, Kikunojo Onoe


Masataro Imafuji
Born in 1935, graduated from faculty of music (Department of Traditional Japanese Music) in the Tokyo University of the Arts, and studied under Ishiro YoshimuraX, Chojuro ImafujiIII, Ayako Imafuji and Shotaro Yamada. In 1962, Masataro won 1st Prize in the Tokyo Shimbun Japanese Music Competition (composition division) with his “Suite on Nohgaku-bayashi.” Since then he has composed many works, including film music, in addition to performing. He has won numerous awards including the Minister of Education Award for Fine Arts (2004) and the Japan Art Academy Award (2010). He is the holder of the Important Intangible Cultural Property designation (nagauta shamisen).


Masataro Imafuji
Executive Committee
Tel: +81-(0)3-3469-5879
FAX: +81-(0)3-3469‐5142


National Theater Small Theater, Chiyoda City, Tokyo